I was honored to receive the Organization President Appreciation Award at UT Arlington Multicultural Affairs’ Diversity Awards Ceremony for my service as president of the Native American Student Association. NASA has been fortunate this year to have continuous support from Native alumni, consistent, great advice from our advisors, and and a small but very dedicated group of core members.

Our powwow has become a critical part of the North Texas Native and non-Native community, profiled this year in MyArlingtonTX.com, FW Star-Telegram, Dallas Morning News, Beyond Bows and Arrows Radio Show, the Buffalo News as well as the UTA Shorthorn.  This amazing year follows up on last year’s Outstanding Contribution to the Greater Community by a Student Organization Award given by UTA Student Governance.

I congratulate the new officers for 2013-2014: Stephanie Matthews, President; Harold Rogers, Vice President;  Matthew Schneider, Secretary; Benjamin Honea ,Treasurer. I look forward to an exciting year of NASA activities and a wonderful powwow on February  22, 2014.